Best of Show: "Teddy's Cabin," Katherine Plessner, Verona
Best of Show: "Teddy's Cabin," Katherine Plessner, Verona

2015 North Dakota Governor's Photo Contest Winners Named

Winners and honorable mentions from the 12th annual North Dakota Governor's Photo Contest

The winners and honorable mentions from the 12th annual North Dakota Governor's Photo Contest were presented by Lt. Governor Drew Wrigley in a ceremony in Memorial Hall of the North Dakota Capitol building.

Joining in the presentation were North Dakota Tourism Director Sara Otte Coleman, North Dakota Council on the Arts (NDCA) Executive Director Beth Gigante Klingenstein and AAA Senior Public Affairs Representative Gene LaDoucer.

The vibrant fall colors of “Teddy’s Cabin” earned Katherine Plessner the Best of Show and Attraction category awards. The Verona photographer also won in the Scenery category for her “Hi Line Train.” This year’s contest began in May and had more than double the entries from the year before at 1,133.

“Capturing the legendary beauty and history across North Dakota has been a real benefit of the Governor’s Photo Contest, as well as showcasing the talents of our state’s outstanding amateur photographers,” Wrigley said. “Through the lenses of their cameras, we are able to see first-hand all that North Dakota has to offer. It is an honor to help showcase these photos and photographers.”

Photos were judged on originality, subject matter, visual appeal and ability to portray North Dakota as a legendary travel destination in the categories of adventure, attractions, events, people, scenery and wildlife.

“It is always so much fun to see the variety of photos that are submitted and how each photographer captures our state's unique landscape and personality,” Otte Coleman said. “This year's winners are all very talented and their photos help tell North Dakota's story.”

The North Dakota Governor's Photo Contest began as a collaborative program between the Governor's Office and North Dakota Tourism, and has grown to include AAA as a contest sponsor and the NDCA as a collaborative partner. The 2015 winning photos will be on display during the months of October, November and December at the Capitol in the offices of Governor Jack Dalrymple, First Lady Betsy Dalrymple and Attorney General Wayne Stenehjem.

“Seeing the beauty of our state, capturing it in photography, and sharing it with others is a wonderful gift,” said Klingenstein. “The North Dakota photographers who participated in this competition demonstrate how creativity can impact all of our lives.”

AAA, North America’s largest travel organization, will also display winning photos as part of its sponsorship. The North Dakota Governor’s Photo Contest is held annually and is open to any North Dakota photographer. Next year’s contest will begin in May 2016.

2015 Governor’s Photo Contest

Best of Show
"Teddy's Cabin," Katherine Plessner, Verona

Adventure Category
Winning Photograph
: "Discovery," Elliott Klinger, West Fargo. Honorable Mention: "Tent," Jeremy Lichtenberger, Fargo.

Attraction Category
Winning photograph: "Teddy's Cabin," Katherine Plessner, Verona. Honorable Mentions: "Star Power," Joshua Eckl, Grand Forks; "Northern Lights and Norway Church," Brian Heskin, Minot.

Events Category
Winning photograph: "Waving Old Glory," Lacey Kaiser, Streeter. Honorable Mention: "ND State Fair," Breann Fischer, Grenora.

People Category
Winning photograph: "Chippewa Downs," Jeremy Fonkert, Bismarck. Honorable Mentions: "Dietrich," Gordon Weixel, Bismarck; "Bottineau Mural," Carolyn Moore, Minot.

Scenery Category
Winning photograph: "Hi Line Train," Katherine Plessner, Verona. Honorable Mentions: "Autumn Sunset," Sheri Leas, Rock Lake; "Perseid Scouting," Suzie Bayer, Tuttle.

Wildlife Category
Winning photograph: "Wild Horse Medora," Russell Hons, Grand Forks. Honorable Mention: "Running Beauty," Nicole Njos, Rhame.